Start English » The Faculty » Overview of the Faculty

Overview of the Faculty

Slavic Studies encompasses the languages, literatures, history and culture of the Eastern, Southern and Western Slavs. This is a transnationally orientated study programme that trains students in becoming experts in several languages and cultures (Russian, Bulgarian, Ukrainian, Serbian/Croatian etc).

Studies in the Faculty consist of three directions: Eastern, Western and South Slavic. The degree awarded by the Faculty of Slavic Studies is common for all three directions (although the selected direction is named) and is titled "Diploma of the Faculty Slavic Studies".

Undergraduate students must complete 8 semesters of study and accumulate a total of  215 teaching units and 237 ECTS Credits by taking 50 courses (36 of them compulsory and 14 elective). In their final semester, students are required to complete a dissertation. The goals of the undergraduate Programme are to help students develop the necessary knowledge and communicative abilities in order to use Slavic language fluently for general and academic purposes, develop competence in research skills and critical thinking, and advance knowledge in the fields of Slavic languages, literature, history and culture. The Programme thus allows students to develop a broad knowledge in the field of humanities and trains them as professionals and future scholars. 

For the completion of the undergraduate studies curriculum the Faculty of Slavic Studies collaborates with other Faculties of the School of Philosophy of the University of Athens.

Graduates from the Faculty of Slavic Studies can go on to careers into a number of fields, including academic research on Slavic languages, literature, history and culture, language education (teaching of Slavic languages in the public or private sector), publishing, translation, advertising, the media and the arts, as well as positions with the civil and foreign service (for example, working in support of diplomatic or consular missions in Slavic countries), governmental agencies and international organizations.